Which you is the real you?
April 5, 2012, 5:16 pm
Filed under: Thought-Provoking Muses | Tags:

Gramma, do you miss me when I’m not up here visiting with you?

No sweetie, you don’t even exist for me when you are not up here visiting, except as a thought in my head. And the thought of you isn’t who you really are.

Huh? What do you mean?

Well, when you are not up here visiting me, where are you?

Um, I guess I’m at home in my house, or in school, or on the bus!

Yes, and so if you are there, and not here, even if I have a thought of you, where are you? Which you is the real you? The thought I have in my head about you, or the you that is at home, or in school, or on the bus?

(Long pause…) *I* am real where *I* am! And the thought you have is just … is like… a dream then, isn’t it?

Yes, precisely.

Comments Off on Which you is the real you?





Comments are closed.



