The ever-present, eternally peaceful I
March 19, 2011, 11:20 am
Filed under: Poetry & Prose | Tags:

I lie awake at night, sleeping little.
Thoughts arise unnoticed, and take me on a journey
until a subtle, soft whisper calls me back into my body,
lying in my bed, in a cool, dark, quiet room.

The rhythm of my heartbeat accompanies
a steady, pulsing vibration in my body.
Eyes open, blink, move, but all is black.
Ears hear… nothing,
no sound,
…but an imaginary ringing created by the brain.

My chest expands and collapses as my body breathes,
seemingly of its own accord.
Spaciousness takes up residence
where thought once crowded out all else but itself.

It is a delicate dance, this awakening process.
The mind grows weary of participating
and seeks to call it all off
with a cacophony of thunder,
flashes of lightening,
torrential downpours of rain.

But above the storm there remains the ever-present,
patient,
unchanging,
unaffected,
eternally peaceful
I.

Comments Off on The ever-present, eternally peaceful I





Comments are closed.



