The Old Wisdom
November 30, 2009, 6:59 pm
Filed under: Quotes | Tags:

When the night wind makes the pine trees creak
 and the pale clouds glide across the dark sky,
go out my child, go out and seek
Your soul:  The Eternal I

For all the grasses rustling at your feet,
and every flaming star that glitters high,
above you, close up and meet
In you:  The Eternal I

Yes, my child go out into the world,
walk slow  and silent, comprehending all,
and by and by Your soul, the Universe,
will know Itself:  The Eternal I

~Jane Goodall

2 Comments

What a beautiful poem. I didn’t know Jane Goodall wrote poetry. I like that she says to go out into the world to discover oneself rather than retreating within. There is a place for each but the usual emphasis seems to be on within, when in truth we are everything without as well.

Comment by Ellen

I just noticed that I hadn’t replied to your comment, Ellen. So sorry!

Yes, Jane write poetry, and this particular poem was posted on the Eckhart Tolle TV forum awhile back, and I copied it from there. It is lovely, and you are right–we are everything without as well.

Comment by equiwolf




Comments are closed.



